FRAC take to the bike, the lake and the road.

On Saturday at the Kent County Athletics Veteran Championships Caroline Curtis (22:59:86) and Jane Wren (25:16:61) competed in the 5000m finishing 2nd and 3rd in the Vet 50 category. Well done to both athletes.

In London two intrepid FRAC members swapped the road for the lake and took part in the London Classics Serpentine 2 mile Swim. First home in a fantastic time of 1:00:06 was Kevin Whitby who was 17th in the Vet 55 category. Diane Parsons finished in 1:55:30 finishing 210 out of 507 in the Women’s Vet 45 category.

Saturday also saw the Maverick Kent 6k Canicross take place with Phil Heathfield running with Banjo in a time of 40:29.

Sunday saw the return of the Brazier’s Charity run in aid of Pancreatic Cancer. 47 runners took part representing several local clubs including the Hawkinge Hurricanes and South Kent Harriers. All runners ran from a handicap time but in the end it was FRAC runners who claimed the top spots. Nic Steele was the fastest male and 3rd overall in 26:40 while Nikki Goodwin was the winner for the women’s race and 4th overall in a course record of 29;30. Dom Shepherd was first overall in a time of 28:34 . Well done to all that took part and huge congratulations to Marie and Gary who have now raised a whooping £6550 in memory of Gary’s dad for the charity.

Down the coast in wet and wild Weymouth was Amy Owen who was competing in the 2023 Ironman 70.3 Weymouth event. Last year she had mechanical failure with her bike and so was unable to finish. This year despite the torrential rain during the bike and run sections, she finished in 6:51:33. An amazing achievement and she’s not finished as next Sunday she’s running the Berlin marathon!!!! Congratulations and good luck next weekend.

parkrun results are as follows:

Folkestone Simon RAMSAY 00:17:55 David GILLETT 00:18:08 Elliot CHAPMAN-JONES 00:19:08Pb Nick STEELE 00:20:04 Dominic SHEPHERD 00:20:15 James SPRINGETT 00:21:51 Ian VOUSDEN 00:21:57Pb Prakash GURUNG 00:22:22 Darren PHILIP 00:22:36 Jason O’CALLAGHAN 00:22:42 Kev HOWSE 00:23:14 Chris ADDISON 00:23:32 Jason KING 00:24:26 Phil HAINES 00:24:33 Tomas LANE 00:24:39Pb Alan RANDALL 00:24:55 Louisa EEDE 00:25:11 David BOTTING 00:25:20 Rob HILL 00:25:36 Liam CUMBER 00:26:53 Marie BRAZIER 00:27:01 Kevin WHITBY 00:27:18 Kirsty GARDINER 00:27:35 Gary BRAZIER 00:27:38 Deirdre COOMBS 00:28:56 1 Trudi CURD 00:31:49 Rachel YORKE 00:33:01 Clive ALLON 00:33:15 Kayleigh CUMBER 00:40:47 Kate LANCEFIELD 00:44:57

Dover waterfront Jacob HENWOOD 00:18:33 Trevor DEVOOGHT 00:18:37 Torben JESSEN 00:19:18 Nikki GOODWIN 00:20:36 Greg DIXON 00:21:14 Deborah JEFFERY 00:21:51 Dave BOWERMAN 00:24:21 Christopher WOOLGAR 00:24:32 Collette WINDSOR 00:28:34 Neil ADAMS 00:28:55 Jason CROCKFORD 00:29:38 Roy ATKINS 00:36:44

Plymouth Central Eleanor PRIESTLEY 00:25:29

Weymouth Henry AXON 00:16:44 Amy OWEN 00:32:18

Claremount Waterfront Denise KING 00:37:00

Ashford Rebekah BURNETT 00:32:03

Hampstead Heath Ian MERRICK 00:20:59

Ashton Court Anthony SCOTT 00:25:05

FRAC runners taking on the new Dover waterfront parkrun.