Spring is here!

Folkestone 10

On Friday Folkestone Running Club held it’s annual Folkestone 10 mile race.  Starting on Hythe green and running along the seafront to the Folkestone coastal park and back, the race is a fast, flat race, which is extremely popular and always well attended.  This year, the 39th Folkestone 10, 661 people ran the race in glorious sunshine.  The men’s race was won by Dean Lacy of Cambridge Harriers in a time of 51:40, followed in second place by Barry Stephenson of Dartford Harriers AC in a time of 53:07 and Dillion Hobbs of Tunbridge Wells Harriers in a time of 54:20. 

The Women’s race was won by Helen Gaunt of Tonbridge AC in a time of 58:13, followed by Charlotte Johnston of Maidstone Harriers in a time of 1:03:03 and Nicole Priestley in a time of 1:05:08

Although most Folkestone Running Club members were working hard on the day marshalling the event and ensure the day ran smoothly for all runners, 4 club members won a place in the club lottery to run for the club.  Prakash Gurung was the first FRC runner back in a time of 58:42, followed by Darren Philip in a time of 1:18:13, Alan Randall in a time of 1:21:54 and Amy Owen in a time of 1:40:14

Easter Races

Although it was the Easter weekend there were still a few races.

On Sunday, Chris Childs ran the Margate, 4 bays, 10km race along the beaches of Margate, in a time of 1:05:47. 

Stephen Male ran the Maidenhead 10 mile race in a time of 55:57 and was the 1st vet 50.

And Caroline Curtis ran the Westonbirt House Easter Half Marathon in Bristol in a time of 1:49:45.


This weekends parkruns;

Ashford parkrun

Andrew Tremain 28:14, Maria Chapman 30:52

Lloyd parkrun, Croydon

Krzysztof Klidzia 20:10

Eastville parkrun

Caroline Curtis 25:14, Brent Parker 33:25

Penrose parkrun

Emma Clayton 21:28, Jennifer Clayton 23:15

Sittingbourne parkrun

Deborah Jeffery 23:45

Walmer and Deal Seafront parkrun

Alan Fletcher 29:41

Rothay Park parkrun, Ambleside

Anthony Scott 25:41

Folkestone parkrun

Joe Bruce  16:13, Henry Axon  16:16, Prakash Gurung  17:52, Ian Merrick  18:27, Nick Steele  18:33, Tristan Bruce  18:45, Torben Jessen  19:29, Rob Collier  19:40, David Gillett  20:01, Paul Bartlett  20:21, Trevor Devooght  20:51, Linnaea Stockall  20:52, Martin Murray  21:10, Jacob Henwood  21:51, Hazel Green  22:28, Stuart Erskine  22:33, Vicky Scott  22:39, Karla Larnder  22:41, Catherine O’Connor  22:49, Bec Powney  23:14, Andrew Smith  23:29, Gavin Dodwell  23:53, Philip Maull  23:55, Jason O’Callaghan  23:57, Phil Haines  24:18, Ron Bell  24:26, Jody Stoakes  24:32, Chris Addison  24:33, Darren Crew  24:33, Alan Randall  24:35, David Botting  24:36, Andrew Richardson  24:49, Eleanor Priestley  25:23, Jane Wren  25:34, Thomas Murray  25:47, Diane Parsons  25:55, Deirdre Coombs  26:09, Pamela Allon  26:33, Kevin Whitby  26:37, Dominic Shepherd  27:20, Jason Herridge  27:22, Rebekah Newton  27:37, Philip Bridges  28:26, Anh-Van Whitby  28:27, Kirsty Gardiner  29:29, Amy Owen  29:37, Hayley Turrell  29:49, Neil Adams  30:10, Julie Gibbs  30:28, Malcolm Gibbs  30:29, Roisin Bunt  30:45, Sue Elkins  33:56, Collette Windsor  34:49, Sonia Markwell  34:50, Trudi Curd  36:15, Clive Allon  38:29, Kayleigh Cumber  43:29.