Hit the Trails

This weekend, Bedgebury Pinetum was the place to be with parkruns, canicross and trail runners taking place over the weekend. 

On Saturday, Rachel Smith and Sylwia Tokarska ran the Bedgebury Winter 10k Canicross Challenge with their dogs, in times of 50:40 and 50:32 respectively.  In the 5k challenge, 3 FRC runners and their dogs competed.  Karla Larnder was the first FRC runner back in a time of 24:16, followed by Jenny Quinn in a time of 27:00 and Jane Wren in a time of 28:22.

On Sunday, Anthony Scott also travelled to Bedgebury to run the “slightly undulating” 2 lap Bedgebury Forest 10 mile trail race in a time of 1:32:49. 

It’s not just about the races!  On Saturday a large group of Folkestone Running Club members turned up at Saltwood Station to complete the annual Paul Hill memorial trail run.  This friendly, social run which winds its way through the woods of Saltwood up onto the North downs and along the Pilgrims Way, with a sharp drop back down to the flat (beware of the gate at the bottom) and back through the fields to be greeted back at the car park with tea, coffee and cakes, is a much loved fixture on the FRC calendar and, as always was enjoyed by all.


Lloyd Parkrun, Croydon

In the Lloyd Parkrun, Krzysztof Klidzia came second overall in a time of 19:17.

Bracknell Parkrun

Deborah Jeffery, 24:16

Brandon Country Park Parkrun

Henry Axon was the first runner back in a time of 18:35 with Amy Owen finishing in 31:14.

Bedgebury Pinetum Parkrun

Alan Randall, 26:05

Walmer and Deal Seafront Parkrun

Rebekah Newton, 26:30

Folkestone Parkrun

A very impressive turnout for Folkestone RC in this weeks Folkestone Parkrun saw FRC men taking 6 of the first 7 places.  Simon Ramsay was the first runner back overall in a time of 17:47, he was followed in second place by Prakash Gurung in a time of 17:54, and in third place was Daniel Voller in a time of 18:41. 

Other FRC runners were:

David Gillett 18:57, Ian Merrick 19:07, Nicholas Bryant 19:11, Linnaea Stockall 21:54, Philip Maull 22:55, Stuart Erskine 23:21, Simon Coffey 23:45, Jason Herridge 24:17, Jason O’Callaghan 24:31, Gavin Dodwell 24:40, Anthony Scott 24:43, David Botting 24:45, Jacob Henwood 26:14, Andrew Richardson 26:15, Deirdre Coombs 26:25, Carolyn Lewis 28:04, Richard Dyer 30:04, Kirsty Wilson 30:35, Trevor Devooght 35:08, Aldous Hosking 37:03, Mark Macfarlane 39:17