Winter Handicap, X country, Trails and Parkruns

The Winter handicap race #2 took place on Tuesday last week with 40 members taking part. The winner was Hayley Turrell running off scratch with Rob Collier achieving the quickest male finishing time off a handicap of 16 in 27:36 and Nikki Goodwin the quickest lady in a time of 30:49 of a handicap of 15. Link to the full results:

The latest Cross Country Kent League fixture at Foots Cray took place Saturday in some pretty bleak conditions. First to race were our under 15 girls with Emma Clayton finishing in 19th place, Sylvie Brown, 24th and Jennifer Clayton in 40th place. The team finished in 5th place out of 7 teams on the day and in 6th place out of 9 teams for the season despite only fielding a full team in two out of the four races.

Although not racing yesterday, Grahame Eke finished the season in a creditable 8th place out of 14 in the Vet 70 runners.

In the Senior Mens event, Henry Axon was first to finish for the club in 76th place, followed by Torben Jessen in 147th, Neil Trett in 158th and Dave Smyth in 168th. The team finished in 16th place out of 18 teams and is currently in 18thplace out of 22 teams in the league with one race left to go in February.

Full results from yesterday’s fixture can be found at

Saturday saw Antony Scott take part in the Maverick Adidas Terrex West Sussex series trail race- middle course finishing in a time of 1:20:07 and then in the evening the Maverick Exposure Lights Dark West Sussex trail race- long route in 2:08:13. Sadly Tony picked up an injury half way round which made the second half hard going.

Sunday saw Tara Baker complete another marathon at Samphire Hoe in a time of 4:49:56- number 176!!

A number FRC members braved the horrendous weather conditions for Saturday’s parkruns this week the results are as follows:

Tristan BRUCE00:18:52
Rob COLLIER00:19:10
Phil HOYLAND00:20:01
Jonathan ARANA-MORTON00:20:29
Henry AXON00:22:18
Kirsty WILSON00:22:23
Deborah JEFFERY00:22:43
Ian MERRICK00:23:02
Vicky SCOTT00:23:18
Anh-Van WHITBY00:23:22
Linnaea STOCKALL00:23:40
Louisa EEDE00:23:47
Richard FOWLES00:25:15
Brian DAVIS00:25:51
Richard DYER00:27:37
Debbie DUNHAM00:28:39
Gary BRAZIER00:29:20
Diane PARSONS00:29:54
David WALBROOK00:29:59
Simon BURVILL00:30:26
Pegwell Bay 
Karla Lardner00:22:02
Andrew Tremain00:26:41