Who wants an easy cross country race?

On Saturday the Kent Cross Country Championships were held at Brands Hatch.  After the appalling weather of the 2022 fixture it was hoped that 2023 would provide better conditions for the event. Unfortunately this was not the case with gale force winds buffeting the exposed high ground around Brands Hatch nearly resulting in the club tent taking off!

Our hardy club runners were not daunted though with Nico Pedrazas the first to run in the Under 13 Boys race running well in tough conditions and finishing in 50th place. Twins Emma and Jennifer Clayton were next to race in the Under 15 Girls event completing the event in 14th and 30th respectively and both improving their positions from last year’s championships.

In the under 17 Mens race Joe Bruce and Oliver Collier ran well in their first year in this age group with Joe having a great finish in fifth place and the prospect of another Kent selection and Oliver also finishing strongly in 28th.

Folkestone men were able to field a full team with Stephen Male, reinforcing his success at the Kent Vets Cross Country Championships by finishing as first Vet 50 and 44th overall in the Senior Mens race. Stephen was followed by Henry Axon in 50th place, over 100 places up on last years finishing position. Krzysztof Klidzia was next to finish in 89th followed by Tristan Bruce in 110th, Paul Bartlett in 125th and Nick Steele in 130th. The mens team finished the competition in 8th place three places higher than last year.

In the Senior Womens race Karla Larnder, Catherine O’Connor and Amy Owen lined up to race. Sadly Amy had to pull out due to illness but Karla finished in 75th place improving on her position from 2022 and Catherine completed the 8k course in 90th place.

Parkrun Results

Ashford Parkrun

Jacob Henwood 26:15

Burnley Parkrun

Simon Coffey 23:13

Clair Parkrun

Darren Crew 21:14, Jody Stoakes 23:13

Shorne Woods Parkrun

Caroline Curtis 24:52, Brent Parker 35:34

Dartford Parkrun

Henry Axon 23:45, Amy Owen 32:33

Walmer and Deal Seafront Parkrun

Philip Heathfield 24:02

Maria Chapman 29:59

Folkestone Parkrun

Prakash Gurung 18:09, Ian Merrick 19:40, Andrew Fletcher 20:45, David Gillett 21:05, Torben Jessen 21:17, David Weekes 21:27, Vicky Scott (2nd Lady) 22:31, Darren Philip 22:58, Martin Murray 23:01, Louisa Eede 23:48, Deborah Jeffery 24:05, Kevin Whitby 24:55, Anthony Scott 24:59, Gavin Dodwell 25:09, Jane Wren 25:18, Alan Randall 25:24, Anh-Van Whitby 25:27, Jason Herridge 25:45, Jason O’Callaghan 25:46, Rob Hill 25:48, Stuart Erskine 25:49, Brian Davis 27:18, Andrew Richardson 27:25, Deirdre Coombs 27:43, Richard Dyer 27:59, Paul Hannay 28:11, Diane Parsons 28:18, Hayley Turrell 29:37, Trudi Curd 30:14, Sylwia Tokarska 30:53, Julie Gibbs 31:00, Jacob Burvill 31:37, Simon Burvill 31:38, Hazel Green 31:53, Kate Lancefield 36:17, Elizabeth Smith 36:26