A Cracker of a Weekend!!

This Saturday night saw the FRC Annual Awards Night and Christmas Dinner and Dance.  It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening with lots of fun and laughter.

Lots of people were mentioned and recognised for their contributions to the club in all different ways.  The following trophies were awarded to

Newcomers: Andy Wright and Karla Larnder

Most Improved: Martin Murray and Jane Wren

Effort: Ian Merrick and Kate Lancefield

The Captains’ Cup: Jody Stoakes and Dave Tyler

Contribution to the Club: Kate Clipstone, Gary Brazier and Darren Crew

Marshall: Dave Denyer

Personalities of the Year: (Nominated by FRC Members) Gary Brazier and Jody Stoakes

Then we have our Parkrun Cup winners –

Parkrun A Cup: Jody Stoakes

Parkrun B Cup: Jason Herridge 

And finally The Chairman’s Cup was awarded to Catherine O’Connor by Margaret Whitham for everything that she does and has done for the Club over the years.

After dancing the night away a group of hardy FRC braved the cold weather to run the 16th Kent Christmas Cracker.  This takes place around Betteshanger Country Park, Deal on a two lap, purpose built, tarmac, cycle track course and is a long-established festive cracker of an event.  The perfect way to celebrate the Christmas holiday season.  First home for FRC was Ian Merrick in a PB time of 30:43 followed by Dominic Shepherd in 35:01.   First lady home for the club was Vicky Scott 36:10. Other runners were Philip Heathfield 37:47, Anthony Scott 39:31, Diane Parsons 40:01, Jenny Quinn 40:38, Deirdre Coombs, who also picked up the 1st Vet 65 prize in a time of 43:13, Catherine Clipstone 49:57, Kate Lancefield 51:11, Lisa Smith 51:11 with a 4 minute course PB!!, and last but definitely not least, Maria Felicetti 51:32

Parkrun this week –

Walmer and Deal – Dan Voller came 3rd Male overall with a time of 20:37

York – Ellen Hills 35:45

Folkestone – We had 7 out of the top 10 men at Folkestone this week!! Joe Bruce came 1st Male in 16:30, Henry Axon 2nd Male in 17:25, Simon Ramsay 3rd Male in 17:54!!  Prakash Gurung 18:03, Ian Merrick 18:59, Tristan Bruce 19:18, Nick Steele 19:29, Jacob Henwood 19:40, Dave Gillett 21:48, James Springett 21:55, Kevin Whitby 21:57, Darren Philip 22:19, Deborah Jeffery 23:17, Caroline Curtis 23:21, Phil Maull 23:35, Stuart Erskine 23:43, Alan Randall 24:05, Jason Herridge 24:09, Simon Coffey 24:37, David Botting 24:46, Richard Fowles 25:12, Paul Hannay 26:18, Richard Dyer 27:36, Malcolm Gibbs 27:58, Amy Owen 28:48, Debbie Dunham 28:50 , Collette Windsor 28:51, Jane Wren 28:51, Julie Gibbs 29:07, Simon Burvill 31:37, Kate Lancefield 32:09, Anh-Van Whitby 32:51 and Brent Parker 33:56

Report written by Jane Wren