Triathlon Takeover

Lots of members mixing things up as triathlons seem to dominate the goings-on this week. The Hythe Bay Tri consists of a 250m pool swim, a 16km bike ride and a 5km run. A fantastic second overall was Josh Pine while Nikki Goodwin was 19th overall and 3rd lady. Kevin Whitby was 23rd ahead of Ian Merrick competing in his first tri in 32nd. Sylvia Tokarska was 10th lady and 56th overall ahead of Dave Smyth in 59th and Aldous Hosking in 74th. 

Down in Lydd, Ben Mcghee was taking part in the Marsh Man Triathlon taking on the ‘Half’ distance of 1900m swim, 88k bike and then 21.2k run. Ben was an impressive 5th overall and 1st V40 in a time of 4:35:35. 

Back to running, and Stuart Sprinks took on the North Downs Way 50, a challenging 50 mile route from Farnham in Surrey taking in over 5600ft of climbing. Stuart crossed the line in 10 hours, 37 minutes and 31 seconds. 

Karla Larnder took part in the Bedgebury Forest 10 mile race, another one that is far from fast and flat. Karla completed the hilly off-road route in a time of 1:28:54, coming 43rd overall, 8th lady and 3rd in her age category. 

The East Kent Relays made their long awaited return this week with a fantastic turnout from across the club. With over 150 teams there was some stiff competition however as it stands Folkestone are currently top of the Men’s V40 B league and the Women’s Senior A, V35 B, V45 A and the V45 B leagues. Next up is Minnis Bay on the 31st. 

There were a few more parkrun cup ties played out on Saturday:

A Cup:

Jonathan D  22:46 ( 102.7) v Kevin W 21:46 (101.0) Jonathan wins

Sylwia T 24:24 ( 103.1) v Hazel G 23:08 (98.8 ) Sylwia wins

Phil H  20:59 (100.7) v Tony S 23:18 (98.1). Phil H wins

Catherine OC 21:22. (99.5) v Nick B 18:42 ( 102.8 ) Nick wins

B Cup

Caroline C 23:11 (102.2) v Chris A 21:14(99.6)  Caroline wins

Ian M 18:34 ( 100.4) v Daren W 20:28 (102.2) Daren wins

Brian D 26:52 (100.2) v Dom S 22:55 (96) Brian wins

Good to see some big PBs at the parkrun on Saturday. Well done to Dan Voller, Ian Merrick, Nick Bryant, Silvan Birran, Jonathan Drinkwater, Sylvia Tokarska and Pam Allon. Full results below:


Daniel Voller16:34
Phil Hoyland17:25
Ian Merrick18:34
Krzysztof Klidzia18:38
Nicholas Bryant18:42
Tristan Bruce18:43
Henry Axon18:48
Daren Wild20:28
Philip Heathfield20:59
Chris Addison21:14
Catherine O’Connor21:22
Kevin Whitby21:46
Deborah Jeffery22:06
David Gillett22:13
Jonathan Drinkwater22:46
Louisa Eede22:48
Paul Bartlett23:07
Rob Hill23:08
Hazel Green23:08
Caroline Curtis23:11
Anthony Scott23:18
Stuart Erskine23:23
Ivana Collier23:52
Sylwia Tokarska24:24
Kirsty Wilson26:19
Pamela Allon26:34
Malcolm Gibbs26:43
Brian Davis26:52
Anh-Van Whitby26:53
Ron Bell26:55
Andrew Tremain27:16
Jason Herridge27:17
Kirsty Gardiner27:22
Collette Windsor27:27
Deirdre Coombs27:40
Hayley Turrell28:27
Amy Owen28:52
Debbie Dunham29:39
Maria Felicetti30:10
Elizabeth Tew30:39
Julie Gibbs30:50
Catherine-Anne Curtis32:23
Kate Lancefield32:24
Simon Burvill33:59
Brent Parker34:00
Jacob Burvill50:36


Vicky Scott 23:32