Cross Country Season Coming To An End.

It has been a busy weekend of races for FRC runners.  First, on Saturday was the final race of the Kent Cross Country League.

Well done to our Mens and Womens teams who took part in yesterday’s final Kent League XC fixture.  First to race were the Womens team of Catherine O’Connor, Sylwia Tokarska and Gail Turbutt finishing in 63rd,75th an 78th place respectively in the field of 100. The team finished in 12th place out of 14 teams which contributed to the great final position for a team of three of 7th place out of a total of 18 teams. In the earlier races in the season, the team of 6 runners contributed to the final placing of 9th place out of 13 teams.

In the Mens race, Patrick Hughes led the club runners home in 68th place followed by Torben Jessen in 128th, Paul Bartlett in 144th, Neil Trett in 150th, Dave Smyth in 174th and Phil Maull in 185th   In a field of 215 men. The mens team finished in 13th place out of 16 teams on the day and in 17th out of 22 teams for the season.

The best placed Folkestone runner for the season was Emily Chambers who completed three league fixtures and finished in 56th place out of a total of 210 women.

On a cold, windy Sunday morning, eight runners from FRC took part in the Ashford and District 10k.  Nicky Goodwin ran an impressive 42:31 and came second place for the ladies.  Of the other FRC runners, there were no fewer than 5 PB’s.  First back for the club was Ian Merrick, 41:44 with a PB by 6 seconds, Kirsty Wilson 44:58 another PB, Vicky Scott 45:06 PB, Catherine O’Connor 47:51, Paul Hannay 47:55 a 10k PB by 33 seconds, Will Jarvis 49:18, Bex Bell 49:19 PB, Jenny Quinn 54:24.

Also on Sunday, 4 FRC runners took part in the Headcorn Half Marathon. Karla Larnder was the first back for the club in 01:49:11, followed by Simon Burvill 01:54:40, Gary Brazier 02:08:47, Marie Brazier 02:08:49.

In Saturdays Parkruns;


Henry AXON , 00:17:39, Amy OWEN, 00:31:43


Phil HOYLAND, 00:17:57

Krzysztof KLIDZIA, 00:18:20

Tristan BRUCE, 00:18:36

Ian MERRICK, 00:20:13

David GILLETT, 00:22:04

Deborah JEFFERY, 00:22:12

Ivana COLLIER, 00:22:44

Anh-Van WHITBY, 00:22:45

Darren CREW, 00:22:49

Linnaea STOCKALL, 00:23:30

Anthony SCOTT, 00:24:07

Diane PARSONS, 00:24:18

Christopher WOOLGAR, 00:25:15

Richard FOWLES, 00:25:19

Jason HERRIDGE, 00:26:03

David WALBROOK, 00:26:43

Stuart ERSKINE, 00:26:56

Richard DYER, 00:28:10

David RODACAN, 00:29:12

Andrew TREMAIN, 00:29:22

Angela WARREN, 00:29:51

Kate LANCEFIELD, 00:29:57

Hayley TURRELL, 00:30:01

Maria FELICETTI, 00:30:31

Elizabeth TEW, 00:30:53

Debbie DUNHAM, 00:33:08

Rebekah NEWTON, 00:33:09

Lynsey TIGHY, 00:33:50

Paul CONSTABLE, 00:35:48


Beth JAGO, 00:27:10


Karla LARNDER, 00:23:13