More Marathons and a win at Cross Country

For those for who a marathon just isn’t tough enough, this weekend was the Beachy Head marathon, which is run off-road and takes in some pretty formidable hills as well. There were four FRCers taking on the challenge. First back was Linnaea Stockall in 4:19:43, followed by Sylvia Tokarska in a time of 4:26:16, Phil Maull in 4:47:28, Kate Clipstone in 5:43:16 and Helen Francis in 6:24:56.

Meanwhile, Maria Chapman took on the more conventional Liverpool Rock and Roll marathon crossing the line in 4:38:41, taking a massive 25 minutes off her previous best time. 

It was the second round of the Kent Cross Country League on Saturday at probably the toughest course of the series at Somerhill School in Tonbridge. A big congratulations to Noah Paterson who won the Under 15 boys race in some style and was the first male Folkestone winner of a league race ever (as far as anyone can remember!)

The results are as follows:

U15 Boys

Noah Paterson 1st place, Oliver Collier 32nd

Men’s Vet 70

Grahame Eke 6th out of 9 runners

Senior Women

Nikki Smyth 32nd place, Ivana Collier 45th, Emily Chambers 53rd, Anna Thomsen, 65th and Marie Brazier 103rd out of a total field of 123 runners.

In the scoring team of three Folkestone finished in 7th place out of 15 and are in 8th place out of 18 in the league to date

Senior Men

Krzysztof Klidzia 79th, Tristan Bruce 109th, Nick Steele, 141stand Josh Pine 158th out of a total of 256 runners

The Men’s team of four finished in 13th place out of 19 and are currently sitting in 21st place out of 22 teams in the League.

Well done also to second claimers Caroline Curtis and Joe Bruce (U17) who finished 56th and 24th in their races respectively. 

On Sunday it was the Woodchurch 5 and 10 mile races. In the 5 mile race, Andy Hadlow took part crossing the line in 38:52. In the 10 mile race, new member Karla Larnder made her first appearance for the club along with Karen Puttock. Both crossed the line in the identical time of 1:20:24. 


Lots of parkruns as usual on Saturday morning. Well done to Ron Bell who set a new PB at Folkestone. Full results below:

Phil Hoyland19:11
Rob Hill20:25
Ian Merrick22:10
Ron Bell22:17
Chris Addison22:27
Vicky Scott22:57
Kirsty Wilson23:00
Christopher Woolgar23:12
Hazel Green23:36
Collette Windsor24:09
Stuart Erskine24:31
Paul Bartlett24:32
Brian Davis25:53
Daren Wild25:55
Catherine O’Connor26:06
Deirdre Coombs26:14
Kirsty Gardiner26:24
Gary Brazier27:04
Trudi Curd27:05
Clive Allon27:16
Jennifer Quinn27:54
Richard Dyer28:22
Amy Owen30:47
Catherine-Anne Curtis31:51

Dartford Parkrun

Brent Parker: 31:06

Caroline Curtis:  31:07