London Marathon Marafun 2022

Today was the return of the London Marathon without the restrictions of last year and FRC did not disappoint. The weather was excellent running weather and as the nervous runners assembled on Blackheath several hardy FRC supporters braced themselves for a day of head craning and clock watching. First home for Folkestone in 177th place was Dave Tyler in an amazing time of 2:35:56 which was also a PB. Henry Axon came in next breaking 3 hours once again, achieving his fastest London time and off the back of a half ironman just 2 weeks ago. His time was 2:53:23. Paul Bartlett was next in a PB time of 3:04:41.

First lady home was Ivana aka “Violet” Collier who overcame the demons from last year and finished her first marathon in an amazing time of 3:39:12. Karla Larnder was the second FRC lady home with another PB of 3:49:46. Gary Walmsley was next in 3:53:55 followed by Pam Allon running despite an Achillies injury in 4:06:19. Marie Brazier followed in 4:27:01 running jointly for FRC and Southern Trains. This was also a course PB for her. New members Joe Carroll and Laurie Williams in their first marathons completed the course in 4:04:47 and 4:16:58 respectively. Paul Hannay finished in 4:34:28. Catriona Watts came in 4:42:13, Ray Johnston finished in 4:48:37. Amy Owen completed the course in her first sub 5-hour finish and scored a new PB in 4:54:47. Maris Chapman finished in 5:11:26 Malcolm Gibbs achieved 5:13:39 after overcoming an injury that in August looked to have put him out of the race and Maria Felicetti completed the FRC team finishing in 5:33:0 with new member Ellen Hills finishing in 6:02:21. Fantastic results by everyone !!

Taking part in the Virtual London Marathon was another new club member, Jason Crockford who finished in 6:01:36.

Further afield Chris Addison and Kevin Whitby took part in the Mumbles Middle Distance Triathlon in Wales. Chris finished in a time of 6:16:15 whilst Kevin completed the course in 6:33:50. Well done to both.

Finally, the Park run results are as follows

FOLKESTONE: Krzysztof KLIDZIA 00:18:14 Ian MERRICK 00:19:03 Daniel VOLLER 00:19:16 Tristan BRUCE 00:19:21 Rob COLLIER 00:19:29 Ian MCGILLOWAY 00:21:16 Vicky SCOTT 00:22:09 Henry AXON 00:22:44 Philip MAULL 00:23:39 Simon COFFEY 00:24:13 David BOTTING 00:25:21 Nikki GOODWIN 00:25:23 Rob HILL 00:26:12 Stuart ERSKINE 00:26:12 Sylwia TOKARSKA 00:26:34 Diane PARSONS 00:26:42 Deirdre COOMBS 00:26:49 Trudi CURD 00:27:20 Kirsty WILSON 00:27:39 Jason HERRIDGE 00:27:44 Kate LANCEFIELD 00:29:46 Richard DYER 00:29:57 Rebekah NEWTON 00:30:27 Gary BRAZIER 00:30:31 Amy OWEN 00:30:33 Simon BURVILL 00:30:42 Carolyn LEWIS 00:31:40 Julie GIBBS 00:31:42 Brian DAVIS 00:51:43 MAIDSTONE: Deborah Jeffery 22:31 ASHFORD: Andrew Tremain 26:00 SOUTHWARK Richard Fowles 29:25 Debbie Dunham 29:26 RIVER VALLEY Linnaea Stockall 23:39